kenyaiwriterforum

A blog for Kenyan iwriters. Get first hand information, gained from experience on how to survive on this competitive writing site, and get the best out of it.

Uncharted Territory: New Niches as a Freelancer

Hello! It’s been really long before I posted anything. Well, here is something for you:

 

I have read many blog posts for freelancers advising us to choose 1,2 or 3 niches and specialize in. This may be true, but I say go to uncharted territory.

You just never know. It takes courage to stand at the edge of a cliff and jump (of course in terms of writing). I have tried niches I’m not comfortable with. I began with Shopping and product reviews, then real estate. On the former, I have taken steps and I can now comfortably write some good ones. On the latter, I got someone who really liked what I wrote. She sent many requests that almost overwhelmed me. This however gave me the nerve to try. I wrote the first bunch and I am happy to say that the skill I have acquired from writing her articles has become applicable to many others.

I am not saying that I have arrived, But that I am on a journey, a journey of growth. Go to uncharted Territory. You just never know!

4 comments on “Uncharted Territory: New Niches as a Freelancer

  1. selfmadejournalist
    November 30, 2013

    I think as a writer in general, you’ll never “arrive” but always be on a journey. It’s the uncharted territories that make this job appealing to me.
    Love it!

    -selfmadejournalist

    • kenyaiwriterforum
      December 7, 2013

      Thank you! I very much concur with you! Keep doing the great job Claudia!

  2. glenn guillory
    December 30, 2013

    Sometimes it’s not easy to find your passion but that’s exactly where you will find inspiration to write every day! You write what you enjoy the most and write often. As you expand how people find you they will. Best wishes and keep it going! Only in the dictionary does success come before work : } http://gtguilloryblog.com/

    • kenyaiwriterforum
      December 31, 2013

      Thank you! Very true and encouraging as well! Let’s keep doing this. Best wishes in the new year too!

Leave a Reply

